Red, Hot Cake   3 comments

I will be heading to Vegas at the end of July and while there my only wedding related activity (so far) is to have a design meeting with the cake baker. Lately I have been haunted wedding nightmares including some about the cake. The worst is the cake falling over, when we go to cut it, and my dressing ends up being a hot mess of cake, frosting, and filling. The funny thing is that in the dreams the cake is red. Now the cake design that Papa Austen picked is not red. In fact it’s a beautiful square, white cake with gold piping and ribbon. Remember this cake (I have decided I like square better than the round):

Source

I love the cake Papa Austen chose with a few changes, it will be square and the pearls will be fondant and painted with pearlized paint, but I am also thinking about this red cake thing. I associate a red cake with the unexpectedness of a red wedding dress, I think it’s daring and sexy. Part of me loves the idea of throwing this thoroughly¬†nontraditional design into such a traditional element of a wedding. My two favorite red wedding cakes are

Red Wedding Cake with Light Blue Sugar Flowers

Source

I love the simplicity and classic look of this cake with the classic smooth fondant tiered cake and cascading sugar flowers.

Red Fondant Cake with Monogram

Source

I love the monogram on this cake.

So what do you think of the red cake? I am not completely sold on the idea of a red cake. I feel we are already having a somewhat non-traditional wedding and I don’t know if I want to take our traditional cake and make it so not. I love the gorgeous, bright red fondant, but am unsure it will be a favorite of Mama and Papa Austen and Mr. Darcy. At the end of the day the choice is basically mine, though. I guess I will need to decide before Mama Austen and I’s appointment.

Are my dreams leading me in the right direction? Or should I stick with my more traditional cake?

 

Posted June 30, 2011 by kcoleybear in Wedding Cake

Tagged with

3 responses to “Red, Hot Cake

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What about a layer of red velvet cake? Then you get an unexpected pop when you guys cut the cake.

  2. Pingback: Red, Hot Cake Part 2 « austendarcywedding

Leave a Reply

