Registry Mayhem Part 2   Leave a comment

While at Macy’s registering I found some adorable casual china with a cute pattern that could combined with some plain white. Mr. Darcy liked the stuff, but had wandered over to the fine china section and fallen in love with a couple different sets by Kate Spade (OMG! Mr. Darcy loves Kate Spade China! Have I died and gone to heaven?). The original plan was to later some nicer place settings to our collection later in life if we found the necessity to do so, but I now found us registering for all three sets (the patterned and white to mix and match and the fine china for holidays). So you want to see the Kate Spade pattern Mr. Darcy and I eventually agreed on?

Kate Spade Gardner Street Platinum Collection

Source

Aren’t they gorgeous? I almost swoon every time I see them. At $139 a place setting they were a pricier item on our registry. Fast forward few weeks later, while checking our online registry (I recommend you do this often to ensure items you’ve registered for are still available and there is enough variety for guests to pick from) and low and behold my beloved patterned plates are no longer available. Poo! My mind is now a reeling for a solution. I am questioning our decision to add the above pictured beauties. I now think we should remove these from our registry and add a nice set of bone china that can be dressed up or down to suit our needs, enter Kate Spade again. While surfing Macy’s online inventory I found these beauties.

Kate Spade Fair Harbor White Truffle

Source

I know they aren’t the gorgeous fine china pictured above, but aren’t they elegant and understated? I love that they are white, but have visual interest, I can dress them up or down, plus their is coordinating serve ware. I love the fact that it’s bone china so it’s microwave and dishwasher safe. Kate Spade saves the day, again. I showed them to Mr. Darcy while he was shaving (I have to trap him somehow) and he agreed with the plan. Then I added these babies, plus some other key pieces, and some gorgeous placemats, napkins, and napkin holders to our registries and now I can create a variety of looks. I am so happy with our decision. One day I would like to start collecting the china place settings from our favorite place setting. I imagine using the pieces at large family gatherings with my parents and my brothers and their families, but right now they are not what we need. It was important to us to add items we need in addition to our upgrades and we need china to replace our paper plates and plastic bowls, just not fine china.

Did you end up registering for fine china? Did you change your mind about anything on your registry?

Posted June 12, 2011 by kcoleybear in Registry

Leave a Reply

