Music to My Ears   4 comments

I love music. I love singing (even though I am tone deaf and can’t carry tune, just ask Papa Austen he often reminds me of this). I love rocking out to the radio in the car. Whenever I am unhappy singing my favorite tunes will usually turn my frown upside down. But let me clarify here, just because I love music and singing doesn’t mean I am musical connoisseur. In fact I am far from it. Now that you understand, I want to talk about some of our music selections. I figured I would start with the reception, because we have picked most of the songs (and we haven’t nailed down the ceremony music yet). So first up, the song for our grand entrance.

Yes, Mr. Darcy and I will be entering our reception to the Notre Dame Fight Song. Some of you may be scratching your head and asking why. The answer is simple. We love Notre Dame. Mr. Darcy bleeds blue and gold and I jump up and down and yell and scream at the TV, when Notre Dame is playing football. Mr. Darcy and I almost had a heart attack because we were screaming and yelling so much when Notre Dame beat USC in their own stadium. (Yeah that’s right we beat you in your own stadium. Hahaha!) Now I am done gloating. Besides our love of Notre Dame, there is nothing I love wearing for pajamas more than Mr. Darcy’s Notre Dame t-shirts. I even love them more than my Juicy Couture pjs. (Yes I love pajamas).

Moving on, our first dance song. This song was picked by Mr. Darcy and was one of his few requests.

I love this song. I love it when Mr. Darcy sings this song to me. It makes my heart melt. I am so happy this is the song Mr. Darcy and I will dance to for the first time as man and wife.

Next up, the cake cutting.

I love this song by Jack Johnson and it always makes me smile. And I am sure Mr. Darcy would agree, things are always better when we’re together.

Our last dance song. (Is it strange to pick the last song you will dance to at your reception?)

This song had great meaning to Mr. Darcy and I at one point in our relationship. I still love this song and thinks it’s a great dance song.

That’s what we have so far. We will be doing dances with our parents’ but those songs haven’t been selected yet. This is a difficult one for me, because whenever I think of the father-daughter dance I want to cry. I know will most certainly on the day of.

Was it easy to select the important songs for your reception? Did all the songs you select have special significance?

Posted May 26, 2011 by kcoleybear in Wedding Enterainment

Tagged with

4 responses to “Music to My Ears

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do I get pom pons in blue and gold to run in cheering when we enter the reception? Let’s go Marriage! When I say Wedded you say Bliss!! Wedded Bliss!!!! Dude, my speech just got ten times better!

  2. We entered to our alma mater’s fight song! It was fun!

  3. Pingback: Breaking Down the Details- Tracking Down Some Notre Dame Gear « austendarcywedding

Leave a Reply

