The Six Month Mark…   1 comment

So we have reached the six month mark. This is seemingly unreal for me. I feel like I have been waiting so long for this moment and now it’s finally here I feel a bit overwhelmed. It just seems like so much. I have so much I want to share with you, like about the rehearsal dinner and registry and bridesmaid gifts and welcome bags and more decor decisions (I think Mr. Darcy may ban me from reading wedding magazines, because of fear I may get new ideas). I have lots of DIY projects I want to complete during the summer. My reasoning for this is two fold. 1. I decided to not take any courses this summer and 2. My work schedule will be changing and I will be finished earlier in the day. There is so much I have to share and do. I am feeling excited and overwhelmed all at the same time. Mr. Darcy and I will be taking a few days away just the two of us to celebrate his birthday and to take a break from it all, but before we left I decided to make a list of projects to complete this summer (by the end of August). So here it goes. Here is my list:

1. Order paper samples for invites (Mama Austen, Papa Austen, Mr. Darcy, and I have made a decision regarding these, that I will be sharing in the near future).

2. Deliver the bridesmaid bouquet tutorial and materials to my FMIL for the bridesmaid bouquets. In case you forgot here is what she will be making.

Source: Jewel Box Ballerina

3. Make fishing boutonnieres. On our last trip to Vegas Mr. Darcy and I found the perfect fly fishing lures (read pretty feathers) to make these with.

Source: Weddingbee

4. Baking test run for mini bundt cakes for welcome bags. My FMIL will be making Polish cookies for the welcome bags (Mr. Darcy’s great, great grandma’s recipe) and I will be making mini coconut macadamia nut bundt cakes, a la Martha Stewart to represent my Hawaiian heritage. The goal here is to see how far ahead of time I can make these babies. According to Martha I can freeze them for one week, but I am more concerned with how long they take to thaw.

Source: Martha Stewart Weddings

5. Paper Crafts. I have decided to add a few more details to the reception. These included a thank you sign for the card table and a bride and groom sign for the sweetheart table. Plus, I am playing with the idea of a photo display.

Just Married Sign for Sweetheart Table/ Source:Mrs. Seashell on Weddingbee

Thank You Sign for the Card Table/ Source: Mrs. Cheeseburger on Weddingbee

(To customize our sign I am thinking it will say Aloha.)

Source: Southern Living

(This photo has inspired me to hang pictures from the railing on the staircase, leading up to our reception space.)

6. Begin working on the programs, schedules, and other printed materials.

7. DIY bar accessories. I am planning on making drink stirrers and stamping cocktail napkins for the reception.

Washing Tape Drink Stirrers/ Source: Weddingbee

Book Themed Stamped Cocktail Napkins/ Source: Miss Cinnamon Buns Weddingbee

8. Decorate welcome boxes and kid’s boxes for wedding weekend with washi tape.

OOT Welcome Boxes/ Source: Mrs. Elephant Wedding Bee

9. Make the flower girl wands.

Tulle Flower Girl Wands/ Source: Sweet and Sassy Girls

So the goal for my summer is to complete as many DIY projects as possible. And as you may be able to tell Miss Austen is a stealer, stealer of ideas from the lovely ladies over on Weddingbee. I freely admit it, but imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, right? Right.

Did you complete most of your DIY projects before the wedding or did you do them as the time came closer? Did you have a treasure trove of ideas, that you turned to during the planning process?

On a side note, I am leaving on a short get away with Mr. Darcy and will not be updating the blog, while I am away. I promise, when I return though I will bring you a delightful menagerie of updates and project successes (cross my fingers).

One response to “The Six Month Mark…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And 3. Doing projects over the summer means I get to help!!!! Needle, thread, iron, and glue gun ready to go!

Leave a Reply

