Capturing our Wedding on Film   Leave a comment

So you may remember a while back, when we were struggling with the issue of whether to have a videographer. This still hasn’t been resolved, mostly because of budgetary and personal reasons. Mr. Darcy really doesn’t want a videographer and I can’t quite justify it in our budget right now. I still would really like to have one for the simple fact that I would like to have video of our reception (video of the ceremony is included in our package from the Chapel). I have been going over in over in my head creative and budget friendly ways to document our wedding. Here is the low down on what I have so far.

1. Our awesome husband and wife team of photographers, Mike and Courtney, whom I have raved about here and here. I can’t even tell you how excited I am to be working with these guys. We have them currently booked for 6 hours, but I am going really considering making that package 8 hours. I was able to get on their prices for last season, because I contacted (not signed a contract, though) before they raised their prices. We also have a second photography company we are working with as part of our package with the chapel, Cashman Photography. I am still debating whether to book a second photographer through them for the ceremony. I would really like to, but unsure if we will be able to fit this in the budget.

2. Our budget blower photo booth from Shutter Booth. I am so excited about this, even though this money could have been used for something like a videographer. I think our guests will have an awesome time and how else would we end up with shots like these.

Image Via: Bubbly Bride/ Source: Red Cheese Photo Booth

3. I Spy photo game. I first saw this idea on a board over on Wedding Bee. I bookmarked the idea to come back to later. I then later did a Google search and found this project from the holy grail of all DIY wedding projects, Martha Stewart Weddings.

Source: Martha Stewart Weddings

I mean really how cute are these? I am so in love. And look do you spy what I spy with my little eye? Our wedding colors (crimson and turquoise) are in them. Aaahh! How Perfect! I downloaded the file and intend on using a free pdf editing program to make different versions of these cards for each table. Instead of including disposable cameras with them though, I am going to set-up a photo sharing website and include instructions on the cards. I think this will greatly add to our wedding memories being caught on film. I will definitely posting more on these babies, once I hammer down all the details.

4. Videography. This one is still a big unknown for me. I am really unsure what we are going to do. Right now the decision stands, that we will not be having extra videography for the reception and will be putting this money towards the extra photography, 2 hours more with Courtney and Mike and second shooter for Cashman. This extra photography is an extra $500. If we were get to get videography it is an additional $775-800. I have it narrowed to two options. A- Wedit. Wedit is a company that sends you five HD flip cameras for you to film your wedding weekend. You can upload all your video to their site, where they will store it for you. Then they edit in two videos with music, this is for their most expensive package, one 1 hour video and 1 highlight video. I love this idea and think it is a great option for brides on a budget. The only drawback is that the video from Wedit would not include our ceremony video. B. Cashman Photo, who is the videographer contracted for Mandalay Bay, offers add-on packages for the reception. I could add an extra 2 hours of off site videography for $775. This would mean that the ceremony and reception video would all be one on DVD. The nice thing about this option is I don’t have to book right away. I can add it up to a month before the wedding. If none of these options work out. I will just ask a few of our guests who have flip cameras to video the reception and upload the files to our laptop. Brother T can edit it for us and we will burn it to a disc.

How are you documenting your wedding? Did you come up with any creative ways to involve your guests in the process?

Leave a Reply

