Adventures in Cake- Take 3 the Grouponing Episode   4 comments

Let me start this post from the beginning. So a couple months back I got an e-mail from Groupon about a groupon for Gimme Some Sugar a bakery in Las Vegas. The groupon was $25 and worth $50, so I bought two (the limit). Fast forward to the last trip Mama Austen made to Vegas with all our cake tastings, I decided that it would be a good idea to order a cake tasting kit from them. The cake tasting kit came with red velvet, white butter, and chocolate with peanut butter frosting, cream cheese frosting, and cookies and cream cheese frosting. I must ask your forgiveness, because I was a bad blogger and did not take pictures (blame it on my sugar high).  I found the cake to be dense and a little dry, but the frosting was super yummy. Well I didn’t think much more about the coupons and how we would use them until returning home. I was exploring their site with Mama Austen and we came up with an ingenious plan of how to use our two groupons. We would order the groom’s cake from them. So I sent them a picture of the football cake I showed you earlier in this post and told them what flavor cake I wanted and that I wanted it to serve 20 people. Two days later I get a quote back, $550. I about choked on my Starbucks, when I read the e-mail. There was no way I was prepared to pay that much money for the groom’s cake that was only going to feed 20% of our guests. I showed Mr. Darcy the e-mail and he about fell over. His intial reaction, “Just forget it. I don’t want a groom’s cake.” Me: “Stop being like that. Your going to get a groom’s cake, we’re just not going to get that cake from them.” So, I went back to the drawing board. Mr. Darcy really wanted a particular flavor from Gimme Some Sugar, Punnkin Pie (pumpkin spice cake filled with cinnamon cream cheese and crushed graham crackers pieces.) My solution, the cakelet, a three-tiered mini cake with a Notre Dame theme.

Source: Gimme Some Sugar

I know this is a New York Jets cake, but same concept minus the bows and in a Notre Dame theme. Mr. Darcy loves it. It is super budget friendly, thanks to my handy groupon. Solution found. Woo Hoo! Now what to use that second groupon for? Enter the cake pop. My youngest brother N, who is also co-best man, has a new obsession, Starbucks’ cake pops. He has told me several times that I should serve them at the wedding. Personally I am not a big fan of Starbucks’ cake pops, but I think cake on a stick is cute for a wedding. Guess what? Gimme Some Sugar has cake pops, too. Woo Hoo, again! So we will be ordering these babies for the kiddos, including N who will be eleven years old at the time of the wedding.

Source: Gimme Some Sugar

Aren’t they adorable? Don’t you think the kiddos will love them? Now all I need to do is to find the wedding cake (if only it were that easy). Did you use a groupon for any wedding purchases? Did you serve lots of different kinds of cake?

4 responses to “Adventures in Cake- Take 3 the Grouponing Episode

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know my kiddo will love cake pops, just like Uncle N!!

  2. Yumm!

    I love cake pops. I’ve never actually tried them before but we’re having a sort of second reception so maybe I will try my hand at making them?

  3. Pingback: Planning a Wedding Without an Inspiration Board…Part 2 « austendarcywedding

  4. Pingback: Camp Fire Gooey Goodness « austendarcywedding

Leave a Reply

