Building the Dream Team and Defining the Details- The Florist Episode Part 1   Leave a comment

If you book a wedding ceremony with one of the hotel chapels in Vegas you will most likely be using their florist, because they have strict policies about outside vendors. That being said, their monopoly on flowers means that any upgrades to bouquets will cost you an arm and a leg. I decided I did not want to blow my budget on the awesome bouquets, that I had my eye on. These beauties had $300+ price tags:

Source: Theknot.com

While on my search for red rose and orchid bouquets, I came across this gorgeous piece.  

Alas, I let my dream of a bejeweled-tone, fresh flower bouquet and found a new dream that fit my budget perfectly. Enter Etsy (my new favorite website ever). A while back when I was lurking over on theknot.com’s Las Vegas board, I saw a bride who happened to have her wedding ceremony at Mandalay Bay as I am, who had a vintage brooch bouquet. So I went in search of one and this is what I found:

Vintage Opulence Bridal Bouquet

This beauty comes from Croska. It is made of vintage lace, brooches, silk, pearls, and feathers. What bride wouldn’t love to carry this stunner down the aisle?

 Now all I had to do was find a bouquet for the lovely ladies who would be standing up there with me. I looked around Croska’s shop, and, although she did have smaller versions of the bouquets she made, they were out of my price range for 4 girls. Then I decided I could make my own fabric flower bouquets. I searched Etsy for pdf tutorials on doing exactly this and I found Jewel Box Ballerina’s shop. I ended up buying a set of four tutorials for the price of three, as a package deal. They included the cabbage rose, rolled fabric rosette, and two different bouquets. This is the one we chose to do:

Feather Bouquet with Gold Stamens

Aren’t these babies gorgeous? They’re fluffy(I know, not exactly the word you think of when you want to describe bridesmaid bouquets, but, they look fluffy), glamorous, and  a little sparkly. I will be changing the stamen color to gold. And the best part of these babies is the 50+ page tutorial with step-by-step instructions and several pictures to go with each step. My gracious mother-in-law to be has agreed to take on this project. But like a good blogger, I will request that she takes lots of pictures along the way so I can show you the fruits (or should I say “flowers”) of her labor. So there you have it, the bridal party flowers.

Leave a Reply

