Accessories and Being an Accessory   1 comment

Warning: Mr. Darcy Stay Far, Far Away!!!!!

After my last traumatizing post. I thought I would post about something more fun: accessories. The other day, Mama Austen and I decided to go shopping for her mother of the bride dress. We didn’t make any appointments because I never know how Mama Austen is going to feel and didn’t want to put the pressure of time constraints on her. So we headed off to David’s Bridal. Well after finding her a dress there (you will have to wait to find out about that in another post) we found our way over to the accessories section. I have spent a lot of time researching different accessories for my wedding, but hadn’t picked out anything specific. I had ideas, yes, along with vague input from Mr. Darcy. This is the one area I felt really adamant about Mr. Darcy giving his opinion. (I sometimes feel like Mr. Darcy would rather have a root canal than to help me plan the wedding.) One thing I felt strongly about was that Mr. Darcy giving input on how I looked for the wedding. I want to look like everything Mr.Darcy imagines for our wedding day. I know it may sound silly, but I want Mr. Darcy to have everything he wants for this wedding. He has only made a few requests, a groom’s cake, our first dance song, and that he be marrying me. So I scoured wedding websites and wedding magazines for pictures of beautiful brides for Mr. Darcy to look at. In the end, I got that Mr. Darcy wanted my hair down and liked makeup that played my eyes up. So with that in mind, I began to look for accessories that fit into Mr. Darcy’s vision and my personality. Here are some of my favorites:

Badgley Mischka Randall Shoes in Blue

 

Source: Zappos.com

Occansey Designs Sheer One Tier Veil with Bugle Bead Edge

Source: Occansey Designs 

I wanted a simple and elegant look, no princessy accessories for me. My dress is simple and elegant, also. I wanted a vintage feel to my look. So when Mama Austen and I found ourselves in the accessories section of David’s Bridal. Never did I imagine I would be trying on big, foofy veils and tiaras. Bu,t when I stood there in jeans and t-shirt wearing just that and Mama Austen began to cry, what was I to do? I ended up with a foofy veil and a pearl and crystal headband. Am I unhappy with my accessories? No. How could I be when they made Mama Austen so incredibly happy? Is it all what I expected to wear? No, but that’s okay. So without further ado here are my accessories in full including veil, headpiece, jewelry, brooch, and shoes.

Jewelry:

Sonya Renee Pearl Cluster Earrings
These babies are from favorite jewelry designer Sonya Renee. The goal of these was to incorporate the pearls and crystals into my look because I wanted to wear my grandman’s pearl necklace.  My mom wasn’t sure if the pearl necklace would work with the neckline of my dress (since its all beaded), but this was a non-negotiable for me. Here are the results.
Personal Picture

The corset on the dress is not all the way tied up and the dress needs to shortened, majorly. You can kind of see my grandma’s pearl necklace and this the veil.

Headband from David's Bridal

Personal Picture of Headpiece

Shoes:

Katie and Kelly Lily Shoes

These babies I picked up at DSW for $40. Aren’t they cute? They’re not blue, but the price and design were right. I think I am going to pick up a pair of sparkly, ballet flats for the reception, also. Maybe these:

Nine West Facinate Flats

Source: Piperlime

 Brooch:

David's Bridal Crystal Flower and Pearl Pin

Doesn’t it match my earrings perfectly?

Sometimes I feel like an accessory at my own wedding. MOH Mrs. Sewing and her husband both told me that Mr. Darcy and I were just accessories at our wedding. At the time we were just joking around, but sometimes I feel this way. Not in a bad way, but in the way that in the Austen-Darcy wedding is a community one. It takes a village to plan a wedding and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Posted February 26, 2011 by kcoleybear in Wedding Attire

Tagged with , , ,

One response to “Accessories and Being an Accessory

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. On the upside, you will be the most beautiful accessory!!

    Love you! ‘Mrs. Sewing’

Leave a Reply

