Journey of the Wedding   Leave a comment

Mr. Darcy and I have been engaged for almost 4 years. I can almost hear your audible gasps. But before you think, “What is wrong with Miss Austen?”, “Did it really take her that long to commit to a wedding?”  There is a story behind this long engagement. May 6th, 2007 Mr. Darcy proposed. I knew it was coming. My ring, which I will explain more about later, is a custom piece and I knew the jeweler had it ready. Anyone who knows me, knows I am not patient. So as soon as Mr. Darcy and I went to the jeweler to pick up my ring (I came along to make sure it fit properly), I was itching to get it on my left hand. What can I say? I couldn’t resist all its sparkling yumminess. So I pressured Mr. Darcy into proposing sooner rather than later. I know, I know… I am a control freak. Anyway, once I had that beautiful sparkly ring on my finger I promptly began planning my destination wedding in Hawaii. Hawaii is where Papa Austen hails from, and for myself and my immediate family, feels more like home than our sunny so-cal home. Since most of my dad’s family lives on the island of Oahu, this was the island I chose. I knew almost immediately I wanted it to be at the gorgeous Turtle Bay Resort. Here are some pictures of this gorgeous resort.


The Glass Chapel at Turtle Bay
I could just imagine having a sunset ceremony in this gorgeous glass chapel. Oh my heart melts when I think about it.

 

The stretch of beach at Turtle Bay

I had it all planned in my head: a gorgeous Hawaiian wedding with shades of blues and greens complete with all the Hawaiian traditions, lei exchange, conch blowing, Hawaiian Marriage Prayer, and a ukulele player. I even found a gorgeous destination wedding dress. Well fast forward a few months and my mom is in the hospital for eight weeks and she has been diagnosed with two chronic illnesses. Thus our life continued for the next year and half with hospital trips every couple months for a one to two week period. This changed my whole life. I quit my job and moved home to help take care of my family. I have two younger brothers, who were both still in school at the time. Of course Mr. Darcy totally stepped up to the plate and just did what needed to be done. Needless to say the wedding was put on hold indefinitely. Over the last couple years the hospital trips haven’t gotten less frequent. During this time Mr. Darcy and I researched a lot of different wedding locations and I planned a lot of different weddings. In the end the time wasn’t right, until now. There was always something. I am in school. Mr. Darcy was in school. My mom was sick. Finally, its time and this time around the wedding planning is different. The wedding is not about what I want or about me. It’s about Mr. Darcy and I and who we are as a couple. So while my mom’s illness changed my life and my relationship with Mr. Austen was turned upside down, it was for the better. I have a new perspective on my relationship with Mr. Darcy. I now know with absolute certainty that he and I can face anything together, because we already have. I also am closer to my family than I ever was before.

Posted February 4, 2011 by kcoleybear in Destination Weddings, Miss Austen

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

